Some Nerdiness… but awesomeness!!!

The past few days have been some of the nerdiest I can ever remember having. It all started on Monday – I was procrastinating studying for an exam I had the next day, and was thinking about the upcoming Adoleo/Anthem Concert, specifically about how hard it is to mic a glockenspiel with a full band playing. Then it hit me: A glockenspiel uses metal bars, right? I wonder if you could make pickups for one! So the next day before salt I tested it out, taking some extra guitar pickups that I had and wiring them to a plug. And it worked! So today, I built the real thing. It has a total of five pickups, two volume knobs (one for the white keys and one for the black keys) and a plug. Here’s a picture:

And here’s the back, showing all the wiring:

Needless to say, I was pretty excited to finish what is to my knowledge at least the world’s first electric glockenspiel!

I also did one other extremely nerdy thing this week: I got an iPhone. Verizon had them for $99, and I was about due for a new phone anyway, so I jumped on it. 🙂

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment